Pay 16 Taxes


Modified from 16 tons

Some people say a man is made outta mud
Teaparty man’s made from trials and blood
Trials and blood and skin and bones
A wallet that’s a-weak and a mind that’s strong

You pay sixteen taxes, what do you get
Another day older, trillion deeper in debt
Saint Peter don’t you call me ’cause I can’t go
I owe my soul to the government dole

I was born one mornin’ when the sun didn’t shine
I picked up my tax bill and I sent in what mine
I loaded sixteen tax bills in the post office mail
And the tax man said “Cough up more or you fail”

You pay sixteen taxes, what do you get
Another day older, trillion deeper in debt
Saint Peter don’t you call me ’cause I can’t go
I owe my soul to the government dole

I was born one mornin’, it was drizzlin’ rain
Teaparty trouble is my middle name
I was raised in the canebrake by an ol’ mama lion
Cain’t no-a high-toned lib’ral make me walk the line

You pay sixteen taxes, what do you get
Another day older, trillion deeper in debt
Saint Peter don’t you call me ’cause I can’t go
I owe my soul to the government dole

If you see me comin’, better step aside
A lotta men didn’t, a lotta men cried
One fist of Tea, the other of steel
If the right one don’t a-get you
Then the other one will

You pay sixteen taxes, what do you get
Another day older, trillion deeper in debt
Saint Peter don’t you call me ’cause I can’t go
I owe my soul to the government dole

16 taxes:

Sales, excise, phone,

income: city, state, federal

Social Security, Medicare

property: School, City, County, Library

alcohol, tobacco,

Use, entertainment, Estate (oops too many)

see also:

http://www.talesfromatribble.com/2013/02/16-trillion-and-still-counting-more.html

